Information for Julia Galef

Table of contents

Basic information

Item Value

List of positions (2 positions)

Organization Title Start date End date AI safety relation Subject Employment type Source Notes
Center for Applied Rationality President and cofounder 2012-01-01 2016-12-01 [1]
OpenAI Advisor 2018-02-20 [2]

Products (0 products)

Name Creation date Description

Organization documents (1 document)

Title Publication date Author Publisher Affected organizations Affected people Document scope Cause area Notes
CFAR ($150,000) 2019-04-23 Oliver Habryka Center for Applied Rationality Julia Galef, Andrew Critch, Kenzi Ashkie, Duncan Sabien, Anna Salamon Third-party commentary on organization Rationality improvement In a writeup explaining the $150,000 grant made from the Effective Altruism Funds' Long Term Future Fund to the Center for Applied Rationality, Oliver Habryka comments on the organization's personnel and financial issues. He notes that key people Julia Galef, Andrew Critch, Kenzi Ashkie, and Duncan Sabien have left and/or reduced their involvement, and Anna Salamon seems less involved in some respects. He also talks about how CFAR decided not to run a fundraiser in 2018 because they felt it would be in bad taste after the Brent Dill controversy, and how this leaves them more cash-strapped now.

Documents (0 documents)

Title Publication date Author Publisher Affected organizations Affected people Affected agendas Notes

Similar people

Showing at most 20 people who are most similar in terms of which organizations they have worked at.

Person Number of organizations in common List of organizations in common
Qiaochu Yuan 1 Center for Applied Rationality
Jonathan Hernandez 1 OpenAI
Nikhil Mishra 1 OpenAI
Hanjun Dai 1 OpenAI
Louise Cabansay 1 OpenAI
Sadhika Malladi 1 OpenAI
Kevin Wong 1 OpenAI
Aditya Grover 1 OpenAI
Manuel Sherbakoff 1 OpenAI
Meredith Blankenship 1 OpenAI
Maciej Chociej 1 OpenAI
Han Zhang 1 OpenAI
Jeff Arnold 1 OpenAI
Matt Krisiloff 1 OpenAI
Tim Shi 1 OpenAI
Jiaming Song 1 OpenAI
Alexander Skidanov 1 OpenAI
Aravind Srinivas 1 OpenAI
Desmond Henderson 1 OpenAI
Dustin Tran 1 OpenAI